Wednesday, August 27, 2014

Top Ten Wins in Sun Devil History

On the eve of a new season for ASU football, here's a list of the program's ten biggest wins, which includes last year's victory over UCLA.

In chronological order:
  • November 30, 1968 beat Arizona 30-7 - the "Ultimatum Bowl", leading to the formation of the Fiesta Bowl
  • December 30, 1970 beat North Carolina 48-26 in the Peach Bowl - ASU's first major bowl, its first game in the Eastern time zone, and one of its first nationally televised games
  • December 26, 1975 beat Nebraska 17-14 in the Fiesta Bowl – ASU finishes the season unbeaten, ranked #2 in the nation
  • October 14, 1978 beat USC 20-7 - ASU's inaugural season in Pac-10; Trojans came in ranked #2 and finished the season as national champions
  • January 1, 1983 beat Oklahoma 32-21 in the Fiesta Bowl - arguably ASU's greatest ever defensive unit
  • November 8, 1986 beat Cal 49-0 - clinched ASU's first ever Rose Bowl appearance
  • January 1, 1987 beat Michigan 22-15 in the Rose Bowl - ASU victory in the granddaddy of them all
  • September 21, 1996 beat Nebraska 19-0 - Cornhuskers came in as two-time defending national champions and ranked #1
  • November 23, 1996 beat Arizona 56-14 - a total destruction of the Wildcats in Tucson to cap an undefeated regular season
  • November 23, 2013 beat UCLA 38-33 - ASU clinches the Pac-12 South division title

1 comment:

Ken Maxwell said...

ASU SHOULD have won the National Championship in 1975, going undefeated and beating Nebraska in the Fiesta Bowl. Oklahoma who had one loss won instead, but we kicked their butts a couple of years later in the Fiesta Bowl.